We laughed, we cried… and it was good. Weekend 3 is history!

Had an amazing time this weekend. It was our longest shooting time so far, no sleep at all – tons of blocking and effects, huge dialogue scenes, massive areas to light – and I loved it all! In 3 days I got around 7 hours of sleep. The cast and crew were simply incredible. At one point the actors and I had a meeting so I could explain the evening and how long it was taking. We played a song and did some Zen / Chi work for about 5 minutes. The actors all told me that they wanted me to take my time, that they understood and they would be there no matter what. They trusted my vision, and they wanted to make sure I was able to get what I wanted for the film. Even if it took till Noon the next day, they were there for me. That felt great.

This weekend was also incredibly hard for the actors due to the amount of emotion they had to portray.  Everyone stepped up to the challenge and did such a wonderful job.  Nicole really got lost in her character of Cassie, pushing herself to the edge on many occasions, to the point where I was actually a bit worried about her.  I asked her about it and she said she was doing OK… but she and many others in the cast had to visit some dark places and to see their dedication made me proud and warmed my heart.  Thanks to the cast for taking my words into their hearts and giving them life and passion!!!

Saturday night was a rough one, but I can honestly say we did the best we could to move as fast as possible. Some things are out of our control, but in every way that I could control, we made sure things were rolling ahead. We had two major characters that did gore scenes and there was a ton of Special Makeup Effects work to do. The effects crew did a great job!!! One of the most disturbing things I have even shot.

All in all, a major amount of scenes are in the can, looking great and sounding even better!!!! This is going to be an amazing film.

Todd Sheets

Director / Producer

3 Responses to “We laughed, we cried… and it was good. Weekend 3 is history!”

  1. I hope you’re taking care of yourself and eating right. You ain’t no good to anybody if you get sick. On another note, I am so excited to see this move, I can hardly wait! I really enjoy the pics that are being posted and this blog. Keep up the good work, Batman, and the whole cast and crew! Y’all rock & roar!!

  2. Three weeks down. I am enjoying the film alot working with a great cast and crew. And yes I can sleep holding a cup of coffee and chewing gum without loosing any of it. I want to say thanks to Todd for trusting in me to portray the character Jacob hunt. He has pushed me more with this role than any other role I have portrayed in his film.

  3. Antwoine, I will keep pushing for the weeks to come. You are doing a great job, and I know things that are inside of you, waiting to come out! Your character goes to some crazy places on this movie and you have been working hard to meet those challenges. Keep up the good work and don’t let the stresses of life get in the way of YOU. This film can show people what you can do…. take advantage of that and really buckle in and know those lines and fight to BE this character!

Leave a Reply

